The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018


  • October 1, 2017
  • The Hague

The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards has further strengthened the capacity of the heritage sector in Europe by highlighting best practices, encouraging the cross-border exchange of knowledge and connecting various stakeholders in wider networks. It has also brought major benefits to the winners, such as greater (inter)national exposure, follow-on funding and increased visitor numbers. In addition, it has raised awareness of our shared heritage amongst the general public while highlighting its intrinsic European character. The Prize is therefore a key tool to promote Europe’s heritage.

In the past 15 years, organisations and individuals from 39 countries have submitted a total of 2,720 applications for the Awards. Concerning the number of entries by country, Spain is first in the ranking, with 498 projects, followed by the United Kingdom, with 286 applications, and Italy, with 278 entries. With regard to the categories, Conservation has had the most submissions (1,606). Next comes Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (457), then Research (340), and, finally, Dedicated Service to Heritage (317).

Since 2002, independent expert juries have selected 455 award-winning projects from 34 countries. In line with the number of entries, Spain tops the list with 61 awards received. The United Kingdom is in second place with 60. Italy comes third (37 awards), Germany fourth (29 awards), and Greece fifth (27 awards). Regarding the categories, Conservation has the most winners (267) followed by Dedicated Service to Heritage (67), Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (65), and, lastly, Research (56).

A total of 95 Grand Prix of €10,000 have been presented to outstanding heritage initiatives, selected from among the award-winning projects.




  • Award: All the winners receive a certificate as well as a plaque or trophy. The Grand Prix laureates also receive €10,000 each.
  • Plaque: Each winner in the category conservation will receive a bronze wall plaque to be put up at the awarded building or heritage site.
  • Trophy: Each winner in the category research, category dedicated service to heritage, and category education, training and awareness-raising will receive a bronze trophy.


Outstanding projects in Conservation, Research, Dedicated service and Education are eligible to submit in the award.

Eligible Regions: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Turkey.

Application Process

Apply online through given website.

Specialist juries made up of independent experts assess the nominated projects and select the winners in the four categories.

  • 1. Conservation: Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage.
  • 2. Research: Outstanding research projects which lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.
  • 3. Dedicated service by individuals or organizations: Open to individuals or organizations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe
  • 4. Education, training and awareness-raising: Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment.

Select the most appropriate category and submit one entry form only per project or field of work.
The same project may be submitted in one category only.

Application Deadline: October 1, 2017 (58 Days Remaining)

Apply nowOfficial link


Source link

قالب وردپرس

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top