Etisalat Prize for Literature 2018 for African Writers


    The Etisalat Prize for Literature celebrates new writers of African citizenship whose first fiction book (over 30,000 words) was published in the last twenty four (24) months. For the purposes of this definition, first book means first printed production in book form. Authors and their publishers can be based anywhere in the world. In line with Etisalat’s vision of promoting upcoming writers, they will sponsor a book tour to three African cities.

    The winning writer will also embark on the Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East Anglia mentored by Professor Giles Foden (author of The Last King of Scotland) which will include significant opportunities to meet other writers, publishers and most importantly work on their second book. The Etisalat Prize for Literature is unique in that it also aims to promote the publishing industry at large and will therefore purchase 1000 copies of all shortlisted books which will be donated to various schools, book clubs and libraries across the African continent.

    In just 9 years of operations, Etisalat Nigeria has become a major industry player with a growing subscriber base of over 18 million in a highly competitive market. Its portfolio of voice and data-centric products include – easy starter, easycliq, easybusiness, and easyblaze; all tailor-made to meet the needs of its customers. Etisalat Nigeria is one of the 19 operations of the Etisalat Group that spans Africa, the Middle East and Asia serving over 182 million subscribers; and it is committed to delivering innovative and quality services to its growing subscribers.


    • The winner receives £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen, and an Etisalat-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, where he or she will be mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland’.
    • The winner and the two runners-up also participate in a multi-city book tour sponsored by Etisalat. Etisalat purchases 1,000 copies of each of the shortlisted titles for distribution to schools, libraries and book clubs across the African continent.
    • Alongside the Prize for Literature is the Flash Fiction Award, an online-based competition open to all African writers of unpublished short stories of no more than 300 words.
    • The winner of the Flash Fiction Award receives £1,000 and a high-end device, while the two runners-up for the Flash Fiction Award receive £500 each in addition to high-end devices.


    • Submissions will only be accepted from publishing houses;
    • All books entered should have a registered ISBN number or equivalent;
    • Entries by new writers must be published within the last 24 months before submission;
    • Entries for fiction books will be submitted by publishers who have published a minimum of three (3) authors;
    • Publisher should have been a registered business (with certificate of incorporation as a publisher) for minimum of three years;
    • Each publisher will be allowed to enter a maximum of three (3) books – however books maybe called in by the judges;
    • Each entry will be required to be accompanied by Seven (7) copies of the book being entered along with acceptance of publicity terms;
    • The Etisalat Prize for Literature is not open to employees of any organisation under Emirates Telecommunications Corporation with branded trade name Etisalat.

    Eligible Regions: Africans Countries , Open For All African Writers to all over the World .

    Application Process

    Interested and qualified candidates should Fill and Download (Print) an Application form, the application form should be submitted along with seven (7) copies of the published book to the address below:

    Etisalat Office,
    6th Floor, Building 2,
    Oriental Office Building 3,
    Lekki Road – Victoria Island,
    Lagos State.

    Application Deadline: September 18, 2017 (44 Days Remaining)

    Apply nowOfficial link


    Source link

    قالب وردپرس

    Click to comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    The Latest

    To Top